Current Skincare Favorites

I will continue my fitness tracker story in a bit, but I really wanted to review some beauty items because they are more exciting to talk about ūüôā I’ve grown up with pretty oily skin, so I have always focused on oil control products. A girl at Sephora told me that the redness she saw in my skin indicated to her that I actually have dry skin, and my skin is overcompensating by producing more oil. I rolled my eyes at her (in my head), and continued to buy an oil-controlling product. Then my skin got SUPER dry and it is still recovering. I should really stop being so stubborn. Without further ado…here is what I’m loving right now!¬†

Before I continue, I have to tell you that I am obsessed with drugstore products. In a later post, I will get into this in more detail, but I have tried to get into more high end items, and I end up being unimpressed because I love more affordable drugstore items. Everything I am going to talk about is either available at the drugstore or is a drugstore price.

Cleanser

Garnier SkinActive Micellar Cleansing Water All-in-1 Cleanser+Waterproof Makeup Remover

 

300-3
Photo credit: Drugstore.com

I love this stuff!! I swear, it’s magical. I used to use the Neutrogena makeup removing wipes, which are great too, but this cleansing water feels so nice! The claims to this product are: “All-in-1 Makeup Remover & Cleanser removes waterproof makeup + cleanses + refreshes. No rinse, no harsh rubbing. For face, lips, eyes. ¬†Micelle Technology. ¬†No Oil, Alcohol, Fragrance. ¬†Surprisingly powerful yet gentle to skin with Micellar Technology. Like a magnet, micelles capture and lift away dirt, oil and makeup without harsh rubbing, leaving skin perfectly clean and refreshed without over-drying.”

Now, I’m not an expert on what’s going on at a chemical level and I have no idea what micelles are, but I can say that this product lives up to its claims for me. It’s alcohol free, so it doesn’t dry out my face like toners do. This product doesn’t claim to be a toner, but I kind of use it like one.¬†I use this blue one because it removes waterproof mascara pretty easily. I no longer have to use a separate product to remove eye makeup and cleanse my face. I really love how I don’t feel a greasy or heavy residue afterwards. Sometimes the Neutrogena wipes made my face feel sticky. Since this one doesn’t leave a residue, I feel like I can use it both at night and in the morning, without having to spend a lot of time. It’s also unscented, which is nice. It’s quick, easy, and this bottle is going to last me awhile!

Moisturizer

Neutrogena Deep Moisture Night Cream

 

300-2

Photo credit: Drugstore.com

As I stated before, my skin has been really dry lately. I decided to go for the big guns and up my moisturizer routine. I was previously using Burt’s Bees Radiance Night Cream¬†and it was fine, but it just wasn’t doing anything for my recent dry skin “outbreak”. I then tried Pond’s Dry Skin Cream, which I thought would be good since it’s so thick. This also didn’t do much, but it was inexpensive so I felt it was worth a shot. I decided to go a little pricier with this Neutrogena item, and I’m really happy I did. The box states, “Neutrogena¬ģ Deep Moisture Night Cream is clinically proven to dramatically increase skin’s moisture level in just 1 week.” I typically take claims like this with a grain of salt, but I have to say that product¬†lived up to its claims! I’ve been using it for about two weeks now, and I saw a difference after one. Granted, I decided to use it as my daytime moisturizer, and I upped the ante with a little bit of petroleum jelly in my extra dry spots, but my skin feels back under control. This stuff makes your skin so soft! There’s a bit of a tingly sensation when you apply it. Psychologically, that makes me feel like the moisturizer is really penetrating my skin and working its magic. Who knows if that’s what’s happening, but it makes me feel good. I’ve stopped using it as a daytime moisturizer, but it’s nice to know that if my skin gets extra dry again, I know what to do.

Jergens Wet Skin Moisturizer, Coconut Oil

300

Photo credit: Drugstore.com

I really love this stuff!! If you are looking for only paraben-free items, you’ll want to skip this one, unfortunately. I try to be conscious of parabens in my products, but I do not live a 100% paraben-free life. I’ll admit that. I think this kind of product is relatively new, so I’m confident that companies are out there developing a version without parabens as I write this. (Side note, my computer keeps autocorrecting parabens to “paragons” so I am going to stop typing that word, for my own sanity). This product comes in three versions: coconut oil, monoi oil, and green tea oil. I opted for the coconut oil version because I love the smell of coconut. A lot of people know that the best time to moisturize is right after you take a shower because it helps your skin absorb moisture better. Something about the heat? Or the water? I don’t remember. This product takes it a step further. You use it at the end of your shower, right before you’re about to dry off. I keep mine in the shower and apply it immediately after I turn the water off. You don’t need to rinse off or anything. You just pat dry with a towel, and you’re good to go! The claim here is that you can get ready in half the time. I do find that moisturizing is something I tend to skip because it feels time consuming. This wet skin moisturizer absorbs almost immediately after application, so it is¬†really quick and “painless”. My skin feels really soft all day, even when I wake up in the morning (I shower at night).

Acne Products

Bye Bye Blemish Drying Lotion

Photo credit: Amazon.com

So, I’m not sure why I had the conception that acne was a teenage-only problem. I definitely still get blemishes regularly. This drying lotion is awesome to put on existing blemishes or those sensitive spots that you know will turn into a blemish if gone unattended. The only downside to this is that you have to go to bed with little pink spots on your face. Thankfully I have a husband who thinks it’s adorable. It’s nice that I don’t have to do much to impress him :P. Personally, it makes me feel like a child with chickenpox covered in calamine lotion. It’s worth it though. I’ve found that I really do wake up in the morning and the spots are improved. They aren’t 100% gone, but they are in noticeably better shape than when I went to bed. Spots that would typically have taken maybe a weak to heal are not under control in 1-2 days. Though the product is called “drying lotion”, I haven’t noticed that my skin is dry or flaky in the areas I’ve applied it to, which is great. This product has the pink acne treatment at the bottom, and a layer of isopropyl alcohol on top. You stick a cotton swab into the bottle until it reaches the pink layer, and then you can apply it to the spots on your face. The bottle tells you not to shake it, and it’s tempting to do so, but you really don’t want to. The alcohol on top is not what you’re looking for. It’s basically only there to keep the product from drying out before it is applied to your face. There were times when I’d accidentally leave the bottle open overnight and I noticed the clear layer had evaporated a little bit. The nice thing is that I could just pour some more rubbing alcohol into the bottle and no harm was done. If the bottle accidentally gets shaken up, you can just set it aside and the pink product will settle back to the bottom. I definitely recommend this product!

Clean & Clear Advantage Acne Spot Treatment

300-4

Photo credit: Drugstore.com

This is another spot treatment I recommend. I like to use this when it feels like I have a lot of tiny little blemishes (usually on my forehead or chin). I have to use it sparingly because it does tend to dry my skin out, but I’ve found that if I use it occasionally, it’s pretty effective. You only need a very thin layer. More than that will probably lead to some flaky skin.

Product Fail (for me)

Boots No7 Protect & Perfect Advanced Serum Tube

300-5

Photo credit: Drugstore.com

I very much wanted to like this product. I am trying to do right by my skin these days, so I’m trying perfect my skincare routine. I’m actually not sure what a serum does that requires you to use one in addition to your moisturizer, but I figured it couldn’t hurt to try. This stuff felt like a dream to put on. It sinks in quickly to the skin and has a very soft finish. It also has salicylic acid in it, so I thought it’d be another thing to try and keep my acne in check. I started using this around the time my skin started having issues with dryness and I didn’t realize the breakouts I was getting during that time were due to this product. I thought I was just having an overall bad skin “flare up”. I put that in quotation marks because it really wasn’t that bad in the grand scheme of things, but it was worse than usual. I stopped using this to see if this was the culprit, and sure enough it was. I’m disappointed because it felt so nice to put on, but it did not protect or perfect, so I had to give it up.

Anyway, I hope this post was helpful!

This entry was posted in Things I Love and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

