Same Love

Last night was the last night of my math instruction class. To celebrate, some of my classmates and I went out to get some wine at The Cheesecake Factory. By the end of the night we began talking about an issue that has been on the forefront of many people’s mind these days: gay marriage/gay rights.

Photo Credit: Mashable

I am not a huge Macklemore fan, but the first time I heard his song “Same Love” on the radio, I cried. The first time I watched the video, I cried. When I read about the eighth graders who played “Same Love” for their teacher, I cried again. I have always been a supporter of gay rights and gay marriage, so I wasn’t surprised that I liked the message of the song, but I was definitely surprised at the emotional response I consistently had to it every time I heard it. Just because I like the message or intention of something doesn’t necessarily mean I will love it (i.e. “Born This Way” by Lady Gaga. Ew.). Needless to say, every time I’ve heard “Same Love”, I’ve wondered exactly why it resonates with me so strongly.

“When kids are walking ’round the hallway plagued by pain in their heart
A world so hateful some would rather die than be who they are

This song brings up a lot of very hurtful feelings of being insecure or not being accepted based on things I have no control over. I think that is a feeling everyone can relate to whether you are gay/straight/whatever.  And of course this touches on that argument that being gay is a choice. I have always wondered why people think this and I think perhaps it’s due to the fact that many gay individuals need to go through the process of coming out. In a heteronormative society like ours, it makes sense that this process is so common, but that doesn’t mean it’s a choice.

“And a certificate on paper isn’t gonna solve it all
But it’s a damn good place to start”

I don’t want to get preachy or argumentative here, so I will just say this. I am ecstatic over the recent SCOTUS rulings. What Macklemore says in his song is true; these rulings don’t mean that everything has been solved, but it’s a start. Obviously, I don’t think that people’s views are going to instantly change. Despite that, these rulings make me very hopeful for the future.

Since last night, I’ve been thinking a lot about something my classmate said last night. She said something about how this is such an amazing time for her daughters to grow up in. Things definitely aren’t perfect, but I think it’s awesome that we live in a time when I can be open about my views so my friends and family have no doubt that they can be who they are without fear that I will judge them for it. After all, if the people in your life don’t trust you enough to be honest with you about who they are, how close of a relationship can you really have?

I need to wrap this up because I’m getting teary eyed just thinking about this. [If you remember, Kirstin Bell’s description of her emotional scale is just like mine. I’m just too happy!] I mentioned this on Facebook the other day, but it still holds true. Even though I know not everyone agrees with the SCOTUS rulings, I’m really happy that everyone I know has been respectful. I’m so grateful to have found a way to surround myself with wonderful, loving people.

If you’ve been living under a rock, listen to this song and/or watch this video. I think it’s beautiful. I’m dedicating this post to two people who are very dear to me: my friend David and of course, my cousin Lewis. You have both been on my mind for the past few days and I love you so much! I’m so proud of everything you’ve both done and I’m lucky to have you in my life.

And of course, a huge thank you to my gals Meghan, Sherri, and Kelley for a great night! ❤

This entry was posted in Friends, Life Thoughts, Love, Things I Love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Same Love

  1. Sherri says:

    I love this, Jackie! Our discussion was so wonderful last night. It is a wonderful time for my daughters to grow up in. They have no thoughts or feelings that being gay is being less or a choice. You are who you are. I am proud of the love they have in their hearts for ALL people.

Leave a Reply

