Rockin’ Body

Confession time: I have not been working out regularly nor have I been eating well lately. Today was just another day that I forced myself to exercise and I did so using Shaun T’s Rockin’ Body program. Today I did the “Rock it Out” program.

IMG_2664I think we can all agree that he’s got a “rockin’ bod”.

It has been a struggle to get back in the swing of things and I’ve been trying for about a month to get my groove back. Life has gotten pretty hectic lately with school, prepping for the CSET, and my new job. My goal for my “fitness program” has always been to find a way to incorporate fitness into an inevitably busy life. I will always be busy and it will only get busier, so I want to figure this out before things get truly crazy. I don’t want my schedule to be a valid excuse for giving up on the pursuit for a healthy lifestyle!

Finding ways to work out in my house has always been a really great way to get me to work out even when time is tight or when I am just downright lazy. Workout videos are awesome for this. Whatever kind of exercise you’re looking to do be it cardio or strength training, there is probably a workout video for you. And it doesn’t have to be anything like those cheesy, 80s workout videos if that style is not your cup of tea. Although, I have personally done a Richard Simmons workout tape and it was actually really fun 🙂

I already mentioned TurboJam and Jillian Michaels in this post, so there’s no need to sing those praises again. This post is all about Shaun T‘s Rockin’ Body Program. Like TurboJam, this is another Beachbody program. When I saw the Groupon deal for Rockin’ Body and noticed that it was a Beachbody program, I knew I had to take advantage of  the deal! If anything, I knew Beachbody would provide something fun even if it wasn’t the most intense.

I’ve done “Shaun T’s Dance Party” a few times and it was pretty fun. When I focus on choreography, I don’t focus so much on the fact that I’m exercising, which is always a plus. Something I should also confess here is that I have always thought it’d be cool to be a hip hop dancer. I’m really not the most coordinated person, but all of my personal experiences with this style of dancing have been really fun for me. Dancing is a great way for me to exercise because I enjoy it and forget that I am working out in the first place. Sometimes a dance workout can get me so pumped up that I will literally dance through my day for a little while afterward.

The “Dance Party” was a work out, but I didn’t feel like it was challenging in the same way as the 30 Day Shred. I still felt like it was a nice addition for my exercise DVD collection because it gave me a good option for those “lazy days” when I wanted to work out, but didn’t want to push myself too hard. TurboJam is pretty good for that too, but that one still surprises me from time to time. Sometimes I am so sore in the most unexpected places after doing that workout even though I’ve done it so many times before.

I went on a Rockin’ Body hiatus for a while, but today I decided to revisit the program. Of the two DVDs I have, I had only done the “Dance Party” (45 minutes) and the “Hard Core Abs” (10 minutes), so I figured it was about time that I try one of the other workouts. I decided to try “Rock it Out” (45 minutes). I was feeling pretty lazy today, so I figured this would be a good option. Something easy and fun set to rock music. I was incredibly wrong.

Unlike “Shawn T’s Dance Party” which focused mostly on cardio, “Rock it Out” focused a lot on strength training. And it was not easy. What I expected to be 45 minutes of bouncing around to fun choreography was really about 40 minutes of weights, squats, ab work, push ups, etc. I worked up a pretty intense sweat and I really felt like giving up a few times. However, when I finished I felt so accomplished and happy!

Strength training is something that I am interested in, but it is really hard to get me to do it. Lately, I’ve been doing the TurboSculpt workout on my TurboJam DVD. This is challenging, but not as intense to me as the 30 Day Shred. At this point, Jillian Michaels is still the greatest to/for me, but workouts can get very monotonous when you do them too many times. It’s awesome to have found another program that is just as intense, if not more so.

I don’t have the whole Rockin’ Body program, but if these two DVDs are any indication, the program must be pretty good!

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

