Avocado Post #3: Avocado Egg Salad

I’ve got a few recipe posts in queue that have been piling up. After this post, I still have one more Avocado Post for you all. Take a look at Avocado Posts #1 and #2 if you missed them. The recipe is pretty simple, but awesome. The hardest part about this recipe is hard boiling the eggs. I must have missed her suggestion to follow the Martha Stewart Method. Aaaaaand, this is why I sometimes (okay, often) have trouble following recipes.

Speaking of following recipes, in typical “me” fashion, I didn’t follow this recipe faithfully. I didn’t do anything too crazy this time though. All I did was omit the egg yolks. This recipe is perfect for doing egg whites only because there are enough tastes and textures that you don’t even miss the yolks. Okay, I was also too lazy to whip out a real measuring spoon to measure out the curry powder, so I think I ended up with more like a tablespoon of curry powder, but I tend to like my food extra seasoned. Ask anyone who has seen me go to town with red pepper flakes on my pizza…

Since I was making this for myself, I cut the recipe in half. My avocados were pretty small, so I figured they were probably about half the size of the large avocado in the original recipe.

Avocado Egg Salad
adapted from Never Homemaker

  • Egg whites from 2 hard-boiled eggs
  • 1 small avocado (see original recipe for photos)
  • 1 tablespoons light mayonnaise
  • 1 tablespoon curry powder
  • Pepper to taste (or omit altogether)

Directions…basically mix all those ingredients in a bowl. So quick and easy! I put my Avocado Egg Salad on some Triscuits, but it also tasted scrumptious on its own. I know this because yes, I did eat the avocado egg salad straight out of the bowl.

IMG_2392

Off topic, but kind of on topic, does anyone else think of Joey from Friends every time they think of light mayo?? I wish I could find a video clip, but my 2 minute search of YouTube yielded no results, so you’ll just have to settle for the following transcript:

Joey: What am I going to do? You know, and I keep, I keep trying to get rid of these feelings, y’know? I stayed up all last night and made a list of everything I don’t like about her. You want to hear it?

Phoebe: Yeah.

Joey: She made me switch to light Mayo. That’s it! That’s all I got! And, you know what? It tastes the same and my pants fit better!

Wise words from Joseph Tribbiani. I also appreciate that it tastes the same and helps my pants fit better.

Until next time, friends! I’m really excited to share the next and last (for now) post in the Avocado Posts series. It was a mind blowing experience for me!

This entry was posted in Cooking/Baking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Avocado Post #3: Avocado Egg Salad

  1. Pingback: Avocado Post #4: Mom’s Apple Cake? | A Work in Progress

Leave a Reply

