Avocado Post #1: Baked Egg in Avocado

I am a firm believer that when you buy avocados, you have to have a clear idea of what you’d like to do with them. Don’t get me wrong, I love avocados, but I will admit that it is sometimes difficult to figure out what to do with them.

The other day, I discovered that my parents had bought 3 avocados over the weekend. Based on my previous avocado-related experiences, I was pretty positive my parents had no specific plans for them. I decided that instead of waiting for them to figure out what to do with them, I’d better come up with a plan for these avocados before they went bad. There’s something very sad about a delicious avocado going to waste due to lack of forethought. I came across this recipe for a baked egg in an avocado, which seemed like a perfect union of two things I absolutely love: avocados and eggs.

Considering my previous cooking failure (see: Quinoa Egg Bake), I thought it best to follow the recipe more faithfully. I won’t rewrite the recipe, because the original recipe by White on Rice Couple is pretty spot on. As the recipe states, cook times will vary. I think mine was done around 10 minutes. Cook time will also vary based on how running you want your yolk to be.

I kept it pretty simple by not adding bacon, salt, pepper, hot sauce, or tomatoes. I’ve been trying to wean myself off of my love of salt (which is pretty difficult and may or may not be a successful endeavor at this point). I did eat it with a piece of toast though and it was delicious.

Specific parts of the recipe you want to pay attention to:
– Scoop out some avocado to make sure the hole is big enough to hold the egg
– Rest the avocado half against the side of the baking dish to keep it from tipping over and spilling
– Crack the egg into a separate bowl and use a spoon to add the yolk into the hole and then add egg whites as needed (I had leftover egg white and extra avocado, so I just zapped it in the microwave for about 30 seconds. Delish!)
– Keep an eye on the avocado because cook times will vary.

IMG_2239As you can see, I still had a little bit of overflowing egg white, but it didn’t have any adverse effects (besides being kind of a pain to clean up later).

IMG_2241So pretty 🙂 I put it in this little bowl to keep it in place while I dug out the avocado. I definitely have a weakness for eggs with toast and the addition of the avocado made it that much better. The avocado was warm and soft, so it was perfect to spread on toast.

I imagine this recipe would work just as well with egg whites only. Cook time will probably be shorter. I wish I was one of those people who thinks egg yolks are gross because I know they are the worst part of the egg for you, but unfortunately I love them. I’m trying to limit my egg yolk consumption, but when it comes to food my motto is usually: “If you’re going to do it, do it right.”

I’ll consider this one a success!

This entry was posted in Cooking/Baking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Avocado Post #1: Baked Egg in Avocado

  1. I also love avocado and eggs. This is a recipe saver! On a side note, the yolk does contain choline which reduces chances of breast cancer in an article I recently read. So, if you plan on making this again, just limit your cholesterol in other areas, :)! But, I agree, if you are going to do it, do it right!

    • jacalackie says:

      Ooh good to know!! Anything that can support my love for egg yolk is alright by me! Thanks for sharing 🙂

      • Well, that part is currently a hypothesis, but it has definitely been found to better neurological functions, reduce inflammation, increase happiness, aid in decreasing vision loss according to an article in the Huffington Post called, “Health Benefits of Egg”.

  2. Pingback: Creamy Avocado Pasta | A Work in Progress

  3. Pingback: Avocado Post #3: Avocado Egg Salad | A Work in Progress

  4. Pingback: Avocado Post #4: Mom’s Apple Cake? | A Work in Progress

Leave a Reply

