My Favorite Things Right Now

I have been pretty busy lately, which is a good thing, but I wanted to jot down something quickly to keep this thing alive. These are a few things I’ve come across over the past few weeks that have struck a chord with me.Kristin Bell’s Sloth Meltdown

First off, I love Kristin Bell. I think she is hilarious and she seems to carry herself very well. She always seems very approachable and down to earth. Anyway, this video made me love her even more because her description of her “emotional scale” is completely spot on for me. I also have a tendency to cry when things are too happy or too sad. I can’t even begin to tell you why I cry when things are happy because I haven’t the slightest idea. If we’re watching a show or a movie and something really happy happens, Tom has learned to expect tears when he looks over at me. Thankfully, he thinks it’s cute…who knows why!

Example: Coincidentally enough, I showed/talked about this video with my friends the day before our Disneyland trip the other day. While we were at Disneyland, we happened to witness the tail end of what appeared to be a proposal. It seemed like such a nice moment that I responded ever so appropriately by bawling my eyes out. In public. At Disneyland. This prompted my friend to text Tom with, “Jackie is over a 7 on the emotional scale!!!!” Embarrassing. At least Kristin and I can start a club of emotional criers and console each other when life gets to be too much to handle with dry eyes.

The Greatest Thing I’ve Ever Seen on the News

Speaking of nice things that make me cry, the other day I was watching the CBS Evening News and something was so awesome it just floored me. I’m not going to get into my philosophies on education right now (although maybe I should sometime). Say what you will about inclusion, but moments like this would not happen without it. I’m pretty certain about that. I know that stories like this are extraordinary and that’s why they are national news stories. It just seems like things like this were virtually unheard of when I was in high school and I can’t help feeling like there is more purpose to my life when I hear about them.

Jack Potter Reads 75 Years of Diaries to Wife With Dementia | ABC News Blogs – Yahoo!

Ignoring the fact that part of me wants to believe that Jack Potter is somehow related to Harry, this news article was just so sweet to me. Obvious connections were made between this man’s situation and The Notebook, but I like this story a lot more. One of the things I hated about The Notebook was the fear old Allie had when she forgot who Noah was. It seemed almost cruel for him to continue doing what he was doing knowing this could happen. I love Jack’s dedication to his wife here and I especially love that Phyllis continues to recognize him and show him affection. I am a really sappy, hopeless romantic, so I could really go on and on here. I’ll spare you guys the details.

Murkin Gets Loved By The Kittens

I’ll keep it short and sweet. I am determined to have a dog like this someday 🙂

This entry was posted in Life Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

