Quinoa Egg White Bake

People who know me  at least moderately well know that I have an appreciation for the kitchen. I like cooking and I love baking. Am I especially good at it? I don’t think so. Are the things I make edible? Yes. Are they delicious? More often than not, yes. Whether other people agree is a different story 😛

Since I’m not really a kitchen whiz, I hesitate to venture into the food blogging arena because there are so many people much more talented than I am. I also recognize that pictures are a pretty important component of food blogging and I am usually either so focused on preparing food or too impatient to eat it to be bothered to take photos along the way. My favorite thing to do in the kitchen is to experiment with healthier recipes. Sometimes they are legitimately healthy foods, and other times they are more “Eat This, Not That” alternatives. Thanks Women’s Health, for digging your way into my daily vocabulary. This is all an attempt to pursue a healthier lifestyle for myself. More on this later.

This morning I decided to experiment with something I found on Pinterest. The recipe I worked off of was a variation of a different recipe from Whole Foods, but I really liked it because it yielded a single serving. Now that I’m reviewing the original recipe again, I realize I inadvertently omitted the milk, which may explain what happened next…

Just like the original blogger, I was fascinated by the idea of the uncooked quinoa cooking with the egg and creating a sort of crust on the bottom. The pictures of her final product looked like her Quinoa Egg Bake just popped out of her ramekin without a problem. I wish I had taken a picture of it in the ramekin before I tried to pop it out. It was so pretty!! Instead of popping out with ease, mine seemed to be stuck to the bottom of the ramekin, which was pretty disappointing. This is also par for the course for me when it comes to taking things out of pans. Such is life!

It still smelled delicious, the quinoa on the bottom was cooked, and I was starving, so I figured the best way to go about it was to just mix it up. I woke up this morning (okay let’s be honest, I plan my breakfasts when I go bed at night) originally planning on making an egg white scramble and the final result was not much different. Here it is, in all its glory. I actually ate a few bites of it before snapping this picture.

20130316-124912.jpg

So, it didn’t come out as one cohesive unit as I expected, but I probably just veered too far away from the original recipe with my improvisation. To be honest, the only thing I took from the original recipe was the amount of quinoa and the oven temperature. It takes a little longer than an egg white scramble would, but I think it’s worth it if you want the extra nutrition the quinoa provides. Foregoing the added hassle of preparing the quinoa separately is a nice little bonus.

Another thing I should mention is that this is full of good stuff and it is very low calorie, but it was not enough to be a standalone meal for me. If this is a standalone meal for you, you must be a pixie or something because that is unreal. I supplemented this with a slice of whole grain toast and a ton of grapes. I will probably need a snack later, but that’s really nothing out of the ordinary.

Quinoa Egg White Bake (Approximately 120 Calories)
Inspired by Fit Foodie Finds

Ingredients:
1.5 T Uncooked Quinoa
2 Egg Whites
2 Slices of  Deli Turkey (I used Hillshire Farms)
1 Cup Spinach
Seasoning of Your Choice (I used chili powder, garlic powder, and basil)
Cooking Spray

Directions:
1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2) Spray ramekin with cooking spray.
3) Rinse and strain quinoa, then place into ramekin to make a bottom layer.
4) Add egg whites into the ramekin on top of the quinoa.
5) Wilt the spinach so it is soft: spray a pan with cooking spray, heat pan, add spinach and stir for about a minute. Spinach will shrink significantly (that’s the idea).
6) Add spinach to the ramekin on top of the quinoa.
7) Crumble deli meat into the ramekin.
8) Use a fork to push the spinach and deli meat into the ramekin so the egg whites can fill in all the nooks and crannies and cover the top as well.
9) Place into oven and bake for ~20 minutes.

Final thoughts: It didn’t really go the way I expected, but as I mentioned before I strayed very far away from the original recipe. I accidentally omitted the milk; I used egg whites instead of eggs; and besides quinoa, I didn’t really use any of the original ingredients. Based on all of this, it’s not surprising that things didn’t turn out the same. I will probably try this again following the original recipe more closely, but if things don’t turn out different, I’m okay with that. In the future if I am going for more of a scramble+quinoa result rather than an egg bake with a quinoa crust, I will probably experiment with just mixing everything into the Ramekin instead of layering.

What are your favorite Pinterest recipes? Has anybody else tried a recipe that did not turn out the way you expected, but still turned out to be delectable?

This entry was posted in Cooking/Baking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quinoa Egg White Bake

  1. Melissa says:

    Yum! I wouldn’t prepare the quinoa separately, but if I ever have some leftover, I will definitely throw it in with eggs. I think you have a direction for a food blog- a little humility and humor 😉

  2. Pingback: Baked Egg in Avocado | A Work in Progress

Leave a Reply

