A Great Weekend, Indeed

Before I start, I want to clarify something. While I will try my best to be open and honest in my posts here, I want to respect the privacy of the people in my life. Because of this, I will avoid using names whenever possible and I most likely will not be posting a ton of pictures (if any) of other people. Anyway…on to the post!

As  mentioned in my last post, I was busy living life over the weekend. I think it was a perfect representation of what makes my life so wonderful. Being an only child, I have always kept my friends close to me like family and the events of this weekend were perfect in reminding me why they are all so important to me.

Disneyland

Not to jinx any of my future Disneyland visits, but going to Disneyland is virtually guaranteed to result in a day full of great times that lead to great memories. I’m sure nobody is interested in a moment-by-moment recap of how I spent my time at Disneyland, so I won’t even try to write one.

My favorite thing about Disneyland/California Adventure is that there are many aspects of the park that remain relatively the same as they were when I was a kid. A lot of the rides are essentially the same, the classic characters are the same, etc. But even with all of this consistency, there are still things that are adapting or new things being added all the time. One of the most notable of these things for me was the addition of Cars Land at California Adventure. I have been excited to go there since it opened literally one week after the last time I went. I was so impressed by the attention to detail and the innovative ways they were able to incorporate elements of the movie into this area of the park and the rides.

Here I am on a ride with a random family. We decided to go in the “single rider” line to drastically lessen the wait time. The ride was much more intense than I had anticipated, hence the face.

On a more personal level, I was happy to have been able to go with a group of my very best friends. Spending time with them over the weekend helped me to better appreciate all the things I love about each person. We are all pretty different people, but I am able to relate to each of them in very different, unique ways. One person will appreciate a certain topic that another person won’t. One person will be excited about the same things I am when nobody else is. I don’t think I am eloquent enough to adequately express how this trip helped me to feel stronger in my friendships/relationships, so I guess you’ll just have to take my word for it.

Snowboarding

The day after the Disneyland trip, I went on a snowboarding trip with another group of people. I got into snowboarding last season because my boyfriend is obsessed with it. I’m not a very athletic or outdoorsy person, but since he loves snowboarding so much, I knew I had to try it. When I bought my own board, I told him that it was a symbol of my commitment to our relationship. I knew that if I were in it for the long haul with him, I was also in for many snowboarding trips in the future.

So, I’ve basically mastered the art of controlled “leafing” and everyone agrees across the board that it’s time for me to move on to more advanced skills: linking turns, carving, etc. The problem here for me is that I’m pretty afraid of picking up too much speed, but that’s something I guess I just need to get over. As with most things in my life, snowboarding is just another thing that is a work in progress.

Something that was very special to me about the day is that a really great friend from college came along with me. Since my life these days is very different than it was when I was in Santa Barbara, it’s always cool when I can find a way to bring those worlds together. It’s like different parts of my life are converging. It’s always an interesting and more likely than not an enjoyable experience. It was especially enjoyable this time, because these people from such different times in my life came together with such ease. I never had to worry about leaving people alone with each other or things becoming awkward.

Here I am with a heart I made out of snow (with some help getting started)!

Anyway, it was all in all a spectacular weekend for me, despite losing a precious hour.  Darn daylight savings time!! I just barely skimmed the surface of this weekend, but I think I included the most important stuff 🙂

This entry was posted in Friends, Health and Fitness, Love, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Great Weekend, Indeed

  1. Mei says:

    I love cars land.. I got a soda there just to drink from one of those orange cone cups.

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Things Right Now | A Work in Progress

Leave a Reply

