My New Flipbelt

I don’t think people really know how weird it is for me to see that truly athletic people are interested in what I have to say. I look at all these blogs of people who have “liked” my posts and they are all doing such impressive things and I can’t help but wonder how anything I have to say is even engaging to them. So bizarre, but thanks everyone for caring! 🙂

Anyway, this is an exciting day because I got to test out my new Flipbelt! I have been using an iFitness running belt since 2010 and I was pretty happy with it. But, when I discovered the Flipbelt, I couldn’t resist trying something out if there was a chance that it could be exactly what I want it to be. I had a pretty stressful night, so this new experience was just what I needed to start out a new day. Plus, the post-workout high is always welcome.

As I mentioned yesterday, I got my Flipbelt in the mail, tried it on, and bounced around my house a little bit. There are lots of different colors to choose from. You can check them out here if you’re interested. I ended up going for this smaller (and cheaper) version. The Flipbelt is basically a tube that wraps around your waist. There are holes in the tube that allow you to stick things into it. There are no zippers or buckles to fuss with so it’s much simpler if you have to mess with your items on the go.

Selecting a Flip Belt: The best advice I can give you here is to measure yourself where you want to wear the belt and use the sizing chart! This is not like buying clothes.

size guide copy

Measure yourself, take that number, and add 2. That number will ideally line up with one of the “Max Stretch Circumference” numbers on the chart. If you’re like me (and nearly all my friends) your body measurement will not line up completely with the chart. My unprofessional recommendation is to keep in mind that you want the belt to be tight. This ensures the functionality of the belt, which is the whole point of buying it, right? For my friends and I, we were somewhere around 34.5”-35′ so we were a little unsure whether we should go for small or medium, but I think we all ended up deciding on small. I just don’t think the medium would have been tight enough to work.

I went for the thinner belt because it was cheaper. In case anyone is wondering, the slimmer belt does fit an iPhone 4/4S and an iPhone 5. Something that my friend and I encountered with this thinner belt is that it’s not the phone that’s the problem, it’s the case. I don’t know if it’s the extra bulk or the Flipbelt material against the rubbery case that makes it a smidge difficult to get it in, but it’s not something that bothers me too much. If this is something that concerns you, go for the normal sized belt and things should be good to go!

Wearing a Flipbelt: The belt is one continuous loop, so to put it on you’re going to need to either step into it and bring it up from your feet to your hips (like you would a pair of pants) or pull it down over your head. I do the first one, personally.

Here’s a video. I didn’t really know where it made sense to put it, so I’m putting it here.

I took some pictures of myself wearing the belt in the three different ways to wear the belt which are explained below. You can use the the logo to help guide you when positioning your belt. See how it sits in different places based on which way it is? So easy, so simple, so versatile!

waystowear.jpg

So, disclaimer here: I am not one of those girls who runs around in public in just a sports bra. I usually cover my fuel belt with my shirt, so this is really just to show you guys what the belt looks like on.

Photo on 3-7-13 at 5.09 PM

Here’s the belt in the position I prefer: Position #2 “Pocket Openings Turned Up”. As you can see, I like to wear my fuel belts a little lower on my hips (around or under my hip bones). The key to making a Flipbelt work for you is to make sure it is tight against your body. This “taut against your body” feeling is crucial in keeping it from bouncing around as you run and keeping your items safe inside your belt. You can wear it low on your hips or higher on your body towards your natural waist if you prefer like this gal does. Whatever feels comfortable to you.

The sizing of the belt is a little opposite from what I’m used to when it comes to clothes. I will usually buy bigger rather than smaller to avoid the dreaded muffin top. “If it buttons, it fits!” is definitely not a motto I live by. To be honest, I had a mini panic attack when I first put this on because it was tighter than I expected it to be because I am so used to pants, shorts, skirts, etc being a little looser on my body. Once I got used to the feeling of it, things were good.

Photo on 3-7-13 at 5.17 PM

Here you can see that the pockets in this position are on top. This allows me easy access to my phone. As much as I’d like to just “set it and forget it” when it comes to my phone, there are times when I really do need to access it on the run. For example, if I have to stop and wait at a crosswalk, I like to pause my workout on my phone so I get an accurate read of time, speed, and distance. I’ve found that this is a little counter productive if it takes me too long to get back in the swing of things because I’m fumbling with trying to put my phone back in the belt.

Photo on 3-7-13 at 5.12 PM #2

Here’s the belt in Position #1: “Pocket Openings Facing Out”Photo on 3-7-13 at 5.13 PM #2

And here’s the belt in Position #3: “Pocket Openings Turned Inward”.

Photo on 3-7-13 at 5.14 PM

Here’s what I usually look like when I’m out. You can still see the outline of my phone, but as I love to say, “Nothing with a function is dorky when running.” Maybe I’ll start to wear it on the outside of my shirts like I used to do when I was marathon training, but for now this works for me.

Running with a Flip Belt: This is what you’re all actually interested in, right? First off, I usually do a lot of adjusting of my belt while I’m out on a run. It’s kind of annoying, but I’ve learned to deal. For the purposes of this post, I actively did not touch the belt unless I was taking my phone out or putting my phone in. There was virtually no bounce, which was AMAZING. If it wasn’t for the fact that I was so excited to be wearing it, I could definitely see myself being able to just put it on and forget I’m wearing it. When I got home, I actually expected the belt to be in exactly the same spot it had started in. Surprisingly, it wasn’t, but no big.

Overall, I think it was definitely a worthwhile purchase. Even though it shifted while I was running, it wasn’t bouncing around and distracting me the entire time I was running. Whether or not it moved isn’t the important thing to me. It’s whether it bothers me while running, which it didn’t. I’m really happy I took the plunge and bought it. I can tell my Flipbelt and I are going to embark on many grand adventures together!!

Looking forward, I’ll get a little more in depth with a comparison of my old belt (iFitness double pouch) and my new FlipBelt!

This weekend I am going to Disneyland with a group of my very best friends to celebrate a very special woman’s birthday!! Happy birthday, Melly elly ❤ Then I am off to hit the slopes for my (possibly) last snowboarding adventure for the season and reuniting with my dear friend, Brittney. Sorry WordPress world, I will be too busy actually living life to post for a little while 🙂

This entry was posted in Running, Shopping and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My New Flipbelt

  1. Megan says:

    I’m having runner accessory envy! I may need to splurge for one of these.

  2. Pingback: A Great Weekend, Indeed | A Work in Progress

  3. Pingback: Running Gear Recommendations | A Work in Progress

  4. Pingback: Hi :) | A Work in Progress

  5. Pingback: Back to Blogging | A Work in Progress

Leave a Reply

