Let’s Try This Again

Over the past few years, I’ve tried to start a couple different blogs, but it was so hard to keep up with them. Here I am to try it again. What’s on the forefront of my mind as I create this brand new blog? Relationships, of course. I think I am the kind of person who defines herself by her relationships, whether it is with friends, family, a significant other, etc. Thankfully, I think I’ve gotten to a place where I feel pretty at good about the quality of my relationships and the people I have in my life.

In terms of a significant other, the past 2 1/2-ish years have been very interesting. I have done a great deal of learning how to be in a relationship and I am definitely still learning. It seems like a lot of people think that if you’re not happy 100% of the time or if your relationship isn’t perfect, you’re not in a relationship worth being in. I feel like that mindset will inevitably lead to a life alone or bouncing around from relationship to relationship with no sense of long term commitment. I am really fortunate to be with someone who is always actively trying to treat me well and taking care of me. Neither of us are perfect, but we help and encourage each other to be better. One of my favorite things I’ve read lately is this. Relationships are not easy and they take a ton of time and effort to make work, but at the end of the day it’s all worth it to me because the person I am with makes everything worthwhile. I don’t believe in soul mates, but I do believe in kindred spirits and he is definitely one of mine.

Last night, a friend said something about staying up late hanging out with a roommate. It made me pretty nostalgic for Santa Barbara and I thought that he was so lucky to be able to hang out with close friends at a moment’s notice whenever he wanted. Then I realized that the very thing I envied was something I experience almost every day. I mentioned it to Tom and his response was something like, “You’re just now realizing this?” and I said something like, “I’ve thought about it before, but I forgot about it until I was reminded tonight.” I’m a total perfectionist and I tend to take even minor slip ups pretty hard. If things go badly for an hour, I will feel like the whole day was bad. When you experience something often enough, it’s easy to get desensitized to it and take it for granted. If every day is great and the only things that are different from day to day are these little slip ups, it’s easy for me to hone in on those and give them more weight than I should. I’m grateful for moments like these when I can take a second to really appreciate how lucky I am and how great my life really is.

That’s it until next time (whenever that may be…)!

Love,
Jackie

This entry was posted in Friends, Love and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

